Everyday News

2023: Identities Of APC Governors Supporting Lawan’s Presidential Aspiration Revealed

The identities of Governors of the All Progressives Congress (APC) supporting the 2023 presidential ambition of the Senate President,  Ahmad Lawan, have been revealed.

HausaToday reports that the governors have declared their loyalty to the Senate President and promised to work towards his emergence as the party’s flagbearer in the 2023 presidential election.

The governors supporting Lawan’s presidential bid include former APC Caretaker Chairman and Governor of Yobe State, Mai Mala Buni; and Governor of Imo State, Senator Hope Uzodinma.

Both governors on Friday led some Senators to the National Secretariat of the APC to return the Expression of Interest and Presidential Nomination forms for Lawan.

In an interview with journalists, Uzodinma said he is supporting Lawan to succeed President Muhamadu Buhari in 2023 because he is experienced and the best man for the job.

The Imo governor said he is pitching his tent with the Senate President because he was his former colleague in the National Assembly.

He had said; “Like you know most of us here are from the national assembly, some serving some are non-serving. Particularly like me, I left the Senate on sabbatical to go and contest election in Imo state and I’m on borrowed status in Imo state as the governor.

“Today we are here in solidarity to accompany our leader the Senate President to submit his duly completed form and we have submitted the forms.

Below is the list of APC governors that have endorsed Lawan to succeed Buhari in 2023.

  1. Governor Mai Mala Buni of Yobe State
  2. Governor Hope Uzodinma of Imo State

Our Telegram Channel

Hassan Haruna Gobir

Chief editor and publisher at HausaToday. My main interest were on Everyday News, Culture and Traditions and History Corner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.